Recently Reviewed

Blogger Tips and TricksLatest Tips For BloggersBlogger Tricks

Upcoming Tours & Features


 photo 3698921_zpsf036d0e8.gif

Wednesday, 5 February 2014

ARC Review: Cold Iron by D.L. McDermott ★★★★

Cold Iron (Cold Iron, #1)Cold Iron by D.L. McDermott 
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Series: Cold Iron #1
Publication Date: February 10th 2014
ISBN: 9781476734392
Page Count: 381
Rating: ★★★★
Review Copy: ARC
Reviewed by: Lynsey
Buy Link: AMAZON



Synopsis: For fans of Jeaniene Frost and Kresley Cole, this full-length novel is the first in D.L. McDermott’s fast-paced, sexy paranormal romance series—available exclusively in ebook!

The Fae, the Good Neighbors, the Fair Folk, the Aes SĂ­dhe, creatures of preternatural beauty and seduction. Archaeologist Beth Carter doesn’t believe in them. She’s always credited her extraordinary ability to identify ancient Celtic sites to hard work and intuition—until she discovers a tomb filled with ancient treasure but missing a body. Her ex-husband, the scholar who stifled her career to advance his own, is unconcerned. Corpses don’t fetch much on the antiquities market. Gold does. Beth knows from past experience that if she isn’t vigilant, Frank will make off with the hoard.

So when a man—tall, broad shouldered, and impossibly handsome—turns up in her bedroom claiming to be the tomb’s inhabitant, one of mythic god-kings of old Ireland, Beth believes it is a ploy cooked up by her ex-husband to scare her away from the excavation.

But Conn is all too real. Ancient, alien, irresistible, the Fae are the stuff of dreams and nightmares, their attentions so addictive their abandoned human lovers wither and die. And this one has fixed his supernatural desire on Beth.




Oh, Fae

This was a great paranormal romance. Highly sensual, great worldbuilding, fabulous characters, compelling plot... All great stuff!

We begin with our heroine, Beth Carter, and her absolute arsehole of an ex-husband on an archaeological dig in Ireland. Beth is a fantastic heroine. She's kind of a doormat, and her ex treats her abominably, but she really was great to read. Her journey from the girl in the opening pages, to the woman at the end, was nothing short of momentous.

During the dig, Beth unknowingly awakens Fae warrior Conn. Now Conn was interesting because he's every bit the cold, unfeeling, superior being you might expect from an ancient Fae. He looks down his nose at humans and uses his glamour (compulsion) without qualm. He sees Beth, initially, as someone to take to bed, as is his right, even knowing it will leave her unable to function afterwards. Naturally, therefore, it took a lot longer to warm up to his character than Beth's!

Aside from the sexual connection and a few early interludes, the relationship between Beth and Conn actually progressed fairly slowly due to Beth's mistrust and reticence. However, once the bond began to form it seemed to catch like wildfire. The switch over from lust to love was a little abrupt for my liking. Especially from Conn's side, considering how he was at the start. However, that was probably my only blip in what was, overall, a really enjoyable story.

As well as the romance, COLD IRON also has a really great storyline - A search for a missing sword on the rough Southie streets. We meet some compelling secondary characters that are sure to take centre stage in future instalments, and also have plenty of opportunities to jeer and the slimy villain that is Beth's self-serving ex-husband. Grr!

A highly recommended read!

4 Stars ★★★★
ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by:


No comments:

Post a Comment

We love to hear your comments!